pre-eclampsia year 6


If you asked me six years ago to the day what pre-eclampsia was, I would have no idea what to tell you. I did not know that six years ago pre-eclampsia was going to change my life forever.  I had pre-eclampsia in my second pregnancy and delivered at 34 weeks. When you read that it doesn’t sound bad.  It doesn’t tell you how my body slowly started shutting down, it doesn’t tell you that my child has a uni-lateral hearing loss, it doesn’t tell my child has learning disorders, it doesn’t tell you how my marriage was under stress, it doesn’t explain the toll it took on my mental health.  Pre-eclampsia changed my life.  I have never felt more pain than having a baby in the NICU while I was at home in my house. May is national pre-eclampsia month and I want every pregnant person who every person who knows a pregnant person to be aware of this disorder. I thank God for placing me in an area loaded with hospitals and level III NICU’s so that my doctor could put me in the most capable hands, not all people have that option.  On particularly trying days I think at the end of the day, my child would not be having these struggles if I did not have to deliver early, and that hurts. I know it was not anything I did, but I always blame myself.  I hope that by the time my daughter is old enough to be a mother pre-eclampsia will be a thing of the past.  For more information go to this website  https://www.preeclampsia.org/index.php

About this entry