PA Dutch Foods-my top ten


I saw an article today about foods by state and of course Pennsylvania had the cheesesteak- just for the record there is way more to culinary expierence in PA than a cheesesteak, I mean come on we also have Tastykakes! I’m Pennsylvania Dutch and we have a lot of foods I wouldn’t touch (scrapple, dandelion, pigs stomach, tripe, groundhog potpie) but we also have some awesome foods I missed terribly when I moved away:
1. Shoo Fly Pie
2. Chicken Pot Pie
3.Red Beet Eggs
4.Lettuce with Hot Bacon dressing
5. Peasand Knepp
6. Corn Pie
7. Ham and String beans
8. A.P. Cake
9. Pork and Sauerkraut
10. Apple Butter
and one more Fried Lebanon Bologna or ring bologna

Yes, none of it is complicated, but it is good and once a year on Fastnacht day, right before Ash Wednesday we have the Fastnacht- which you either love or hate.

And this is a cute link as they call it cuisine of the PA Dutch, which makes it sound fancy! http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cuisine_of_the_Pennsylvania_Dutch

We also have a crazy way of saying things too, but that’s for another day!


About this entry