3rd grade


Part of documenting your youth on www.mommyspiggytales.com 

3rd grade.  Third grade was a big year academically.  I remember it getting much harder in school.  I also remember having mono, which was not cool.  I think I was out of school about a month and kind of fell behind a bit on math.  The day I remember being really sick, it was about 2pm and I felt like I was burning up.  I felt all weird in the head, like I was sleeping and not sleeping and I was scared.  I told my teacher I felt really sick and asked to go to the nurse.  She said no.  She thought I was faking.  So I sat there and when school was over, I couldn’t move.  I just laid my head on my desk.  When I didn’t come outside my dad came into school to get me, I was so out of it and so weak I couldn’t stand up, so dad carried me and took me straight to the doctor.  My fever was 103.  The doctor was not sure what was going on and wanted to do a blood test.  I hated needles and he knew it.  So he told me to go to the hospital, since they were better at drawing blood from hyper scared children, well that didn’t fly either, so my grandmother had a friend who was a phlebotomist come to our house and my grandmother,dad, and the blood drawer’s husband all held me down.  At some time I passed out, because I was so worked up ( I really hated needles). 

TV was huge at my house and during my illness and after that I would watch some old shows with dad each afternoon, my dad didn’t work much when I was younger.  We would watch Little House (which I still love), The Munsters & Leave it to Beaver.

Some of the things I remember learning that year were State capitals which I memorized and got right and multiplication tables.  We could pick a book to keep as we learned them and I really wanted this book with cats and I studied hard and was like the second person to get them and picked my book. 

Another thing I started doing a lot in third grade was Wednesday night Food Bingo at the fire company with my mom.  I loved Bingo and I just found Bingo on Facebook and I am so happy. We would win groceries and laundry soap. 

The last memory I have from third grade was in the summer, we had a really cool drug store with a soda bar that served lunch.  I always got orange sherbert.  Well there was a doll I really wanted but it was like $20 or something and my parents told me it was too much.  So one night we went to the horseraces and I asked my father to play my birthday.  It came in as a long shot and I won $250.  Well my dad couldn’t believe it and I was allowed to get that doll.


About this entry